This museum located in the former industrial complex of the Eugènia Mine is a visitor's centre for lead mining in the region of Priorat. A depth of up to 35 metres can be visited to discover the former facilities.
The museum opened its doors in 2002 after refurbishing some buildings from the Eugènia mine industrial colony. Its main objective was to become an interpretation centre on the mining of lead.
The guided tour winds along seven-hundred metres of the first floor of the mines, especially prepared for this purpose. The tour includes a visit to the works and the buildings around them. Here you can see the pithead frame, the machine room, the washing bay, the foundery, the chimneys, the workshops and other places that form part of this complex.
Visitors can wander around the Casa de las Minas, a Modernist building from 1905 where the senior management for the licensed undertaking, Minas del Priorato, S.A., resided and where the offices and the laboratory were also set up.
Bellmunt del Priorat was historically the focal point of lead mining operations in the region of Priorat. The Eugènia mine was the most important of all the mines comprising this group, with over fourteen kilometres of underground galleries, and growing to 20 floors and a depth of 620 metres.
Between the 19th and 20th centuries, the industrial complex was built that complemented the mining activity and that enabled the galena, the mineral originally extracted, to be made into lead ingots at the mine itself.
Although the golden age of mining this mineral coincided with the industrialisation of the late 19th century, there is evidence that the lead in the area had been exploited since prehistoric times. This industrial complex remained in operation until 1972.