Transcatalunya: Sant Llorenç de Morunys – Avià

A section of the long TransCatalonia route that starts in Sant Llorenç de Morunys, where the El Solsonès-Vall de Lord MTB Centre is located, and ends in Avià, where the El Berguedà MTB Centre is located.

Section of the long-distance Transcatalunya route. The start from the reception point of Solsonès-Vall de Lord MTB Centre in Sant Llorenç de Morunys runs along the road (LV-4241) to Berga until you leave the village, where you take the road to Solsona. From here on, and until you leave this road, you must be extremely careful of the constant traffic and the five unlit tunnels you have to pass. You must have appropriate signalling to make sure you stay safe.

After the fifth tunnel, continue for around three hundred metres before taking a steep uphill trail to your left towards Arqués mountain pass. Continue up and downhill, although the tendency is to climb, below Busa i el Capolatell prison, until you reach the pass through the leafy shadows of the Busa-Els Bastets_Lord  sierras. At the pass, which is a crossroads, continue to climb up the road, some parts of which are covered with cement, until you reach the hermitage of Sant Jaume and Busa plain. At this point you can rest a little, enjoying the spectacular views of this plan and of the El Cadí sierra.

Once your batteries are charged, crossBusa plain heading east, first along the Llinars road and then along the Valielles road, along a trail in good condition  until you come to a very steep descent. Be very careful because, given the steep slope and the slippery ground, you could be given the odd fright.

A few metres after starting the descent, take the trail on your right to Orriols, through the wood and under the  crags. After Orriols, you will find the trail to Busa, which you take on your left.  Be very careful with the steep slope and loose stones.

At the end of the trail, at the torrent, take the  tarmacked trail to the Ora valley  and, after a few metres, take an uphill dirt track  to Mora before continuing towards Taravil. On this section to the Taravil plains, as well as very steep climbs, you will also find a part of the trail that will have to be covered on foot. After this section, get back on your bike to tackle the next steep slope, through thick forests.

After the Taravil plains, take the tarmacked road to Capolat. After the village you will come to the hermitage of Sant Martí and, after the El Clot de la Vila torrent, leaving the tarmacked road and take the dirt trail on your right, which flattens off until the Les Tombes mountain and Torneula plain. Ride behind the Torneula country house along paths and trails and through meadows until you reach Marmons country house. From here, along a trail in good condition, you will reach the La Closca country house and, shortly afterwards, take another tarmacked trail on your right on a gentle descent past the village of Rosinyol i Coforb. This section from the Les Tombes mountain coincides with black route number five of El Berguedà MTB Centre, which starts in Espinalbet and includes the most emblematic points of Campllong and El Pi de les Tres Branques.

After the village, turn towards the El Grau Rural House and, a few metres before you reach the house, begin your rather steep descent by taking a turn-off on your left to the Berga to Solsona road (C26). Turn left on the road until, after the village of Avià, you come to the Casa de Sobrestrada on you left, which is the reception point of El Berguedà MTB Centre and the end of the stage.

  • Classification of the route: Nature
  • Means of transport: Mountain biking
  • Level of difficulty: Experienced
  • Circuit distance: 57
  • Length of stay: 6h
  • Uphill (m): 1400
  • Visiting season: All year round
  • Province: Barcelona, Lleida
  • Region: Berguedà, Solsonès
  • Places of interest: Sant Llorenç de Morunys, Sant Martí, Sant Jaume, and Sant Andreu de Sagàs hermitages.
  • Signs: No
  • GSM coverage: Parcial
Transcatalunya: Sant Llorenç de Morunys – Avià
  • Transcatalunya: Sant Llorenç de Morunys – Avià

  • Pyrenees

  • Transcatalunya: Sant Llorenç de Morunys – Avià
  • Transcatalunya: Sant Llorenç de Morunys – Avià

  • Pyrenees