Paisatges de Barcelona

Tourism brands

Central Catalonia is a varied and diverse area with a wide range of attractive places to visit, both in terms of natural wealth (the parks of Sant Llorenç de Munt i l’Obac and the Montseny) and in terms of the history and monuments to be found in its network of towns and cities. The region´s list of attractions is completed with evidence of its deeply-rooted industrial tradition, together with a number of rural and spa tourism establishments and top quality gastronomy.

Parc Natural de la Muntanya de Montserrat and industrial heritage.

Hiking trails through the parks.
  • Region: Anoia, Bages, Osona, Moianès
  • Province: Barcelona
  • District: Aguilar de Segarra, Aiguafreda, Alpens, Ametlla del Vallès, Argençola, Artés, Avinyó, Badia del Vallès, Balenyà, Balsareny, Barberà del Vallès, Bellprat, Bigues i Riells, Bruc, Brull, el, Cabrera de Mar, Cabrera d'Igualada, Calaf, Calders, Caldes de Montbui, Calldetenes, Callús, Calonge de Segarra, Campins, Canovelles, Cànoves i Samalús, Capellades, Cardedeu, Cardona, Carme, Castellar del Vallès, Castellbell i el Vilar, Castellbisbal, Castellcir, Castellfollit de Riubregós, Castellfollit del Boix, Castellgalí, Castellnou de Bages, Castellolí, Castellterçol, Centelles, Cerdanyola del Vallès, Collsuspina, Copons, Espinelves, Figaró-Montmany, Fogars de la Selva, Fogars de Montclús, Folgueroles, Fonollosa, Franqueses del Vallès, Gaià, Gallifa, Garriga, la, Granera, Granollers, Gualba, Gurb, Hostalets de Pierola, Hostalets de Pierola, els, Igualada, Jorba, La Roca del Vallès, Les Masies de Roda, L'Esquirol, L'Estany, Llacuna, la, Llagosta, Lliçà d'Amunt, Lliçà de Vall, Llinars del Vallès, Lluçà, Malla, Manlleu, Manresa, Marganell, Martorelles, Masies de Voltregà, Masquefa, Matadepera, Moià, Mollet del Vallès, Monistrol de Calders, Monistrol de Montserrat, Montcada i Reixac, Montesquiu, Montmaneu, Montmeló, Montornès del Vallès, Montseny, Muntanyola, Mura, Navarcles, Navàs, Òdena, Olost, Orís, Oristà, Orpí, Palau-solità i Plegamans, Parets del Vallès, Perafita, Piera, Pobla de Claramunt, la, Polinyà, Pont de Vilomara i Rocafort, Pont de Vilomara i Rocafort, el, Prats de Lluçanès, Prats de Rei, Pujalt, Rajadell, Rellinars, Ripollet, Roda de Ter, Rubí, Rubió, Rupit i Pruit, Sabadell, Sallent, Sant Agustí de Lluçanès, Sant Antoni de Vilamajor, Sant Bartomeu del Grau, Sant Boi de Lluçanès, Sant Celoni, Sant Cugat del Vallès, Sant Esteve de Palautordera, Sant Feliu de Codines, Sant Feliu Sasserra, Sant Fost de Campsentelles, Sant Fruitós de Bages, Sant Hipòlit de Voltregà, Sant Joan de Vilatorrada, Sant Julià de Vilatorta, Sant Llorenç Savall, Sant Martí d'Albars, Sant Martí de Centelles, Sant Martí de Torroella (Sant Joan de Vilatorrada), Sant Martí de Tous, Sant Martí Sesgueioles, Sant Mateu de Bages, Sant Pere de Torelló, Sant Pere de Vilamajor, Sant Pere Sallavinera, Sant Quirze de Besora, Sant Quirze del Vallès, Sant Quirze Safaja, Sant Sadurní d'Osormort, Sant Salvador de Guardiola, Sant Vicenç de Castellet, Sant Vicenç de Torelló, Santa Cecília de Voltregà, Santa Eugènia de Berga, Santa Eulàlia de Riuprimer, Santa Eulàlia de Ronçana, Santa Margarida de Montbui, Santa Maria de Besor, Santa Maria de Besora, Santa Maria de Martorelles, Santa Maria de Miralles, Santa Maria de Palautordera, Santa Maria d'Oló, Santa Perpètua de Mogoda, Santpedor, Sentmenat, Seva, Sobremunt, Sora, Súria, Tagamanent, Talamanca, Taradell, Tavèrnoles, Tavertet, Teià, Terrassa, Tona, Torelló, Torre de Claramunt, Torre de Claramunt, la, Ullastrell, Vacarisses, Vallbona d'Anoia, Vallgorguina, Vallromanes, Veciana, Vic, Vidrà, Viladecavalls, Viladrau, Vilalba Sasserra, Vilanova de Sa, Vilanova de Sau, Vilanova del Camí, Vilanova del Vallès
  • Size: 4860
  • Inhabitants: 460105
  • Web:

Geographical location

Central Catalonia consists of a large inland area in the province of Barcelona, which includes the regions of Vallès Occidental, Vallès Oriental, Osona, Anoia and Bages.


Economic activity


What to see

Examples of architectural heritage in central Catalonia can be found across its vast network of medium and large sized towns. In the western Vallès region there are some particularly interesting Romanesque churches, such as those of Sant Miquel and Santa Maria, and the Casa-Museu Alegre de Sagrera in Terrassa; the Casa Turull, the Casa Duran and the Sant Fèlix belltower in Sabadell, and the Romanesque monastery of Sant Cugat del Vallès.In Granollers (eastern Vallès) don´t miss the Porxada, the old 16th century grain market. In Igualada (Anoia) the Renaissance church of Santa Maria and the 17th century cloister in the Escolapios convent are worth visiting. The Gothic basilica of Santa Maria de la Seu is the symbol of Manresa and the main landmark of Cardona is its castle. The capital of Osona, Vic, is well known for its porticoed Plaça Major, surrounded by Renaissance buildings.

From the mid 19th century, the Industrial Revolution left its mark on central Catalonia in the form of industrial heritage sites The Museu de la Ciència i de la Tècnica (science and technology museum) in Terrassa is a good example of this, as it is based in the old Aymerich steam factory. Also in the western Vallès is the Vapor Buxeda Vell, the steam powered wool factory in Sabadell.

In the Osona region, the most interesting are the Fabra & Coats textile colony in Borgonyà and the old Can Sanglas cotton factory, now the Museu Industrial del Ter, in Manlleu. Don´t miss the salt mountain in the Cardona mines (Bages) or the Museu del Molí Paperer (paper mill museum) in Capellades (Anoia).

What to do

The Muntanya de Montserrat Natural Park is a place with great religious significance because of the Benedictine monastery located at its heart. The image of La Moreneta, the patroness of Catalonia, is venerated here. This is also where a great many walking paths converge. The Natural Park of Sant Llorenç del Munt i Serra de l’Obac lies between the Bages region and both the Vallès regions. Its proximity to the metropolitan area makes it ideal for rural tourism and walking at only a short distance away from the city. It is part of the Serralada pre-coastal mountain range and its highest peaks are the Montcau and the Mola, on which the Romanesque monastery of Sant Llorenç del Munt sits. Halfway between the eastern Vallès region and other regions is the Montseny Natural Park, with such well-trampled mountains as Turó de l’Home, Les Agudes and Matagalls. It is occupied by extensive forests which are home to the best specimens of beech and fir in the Santa Fe valley.

The thermal springs in central Catalonia have been exploited since Roman times. Today, they are well equipped with modern hotels and spas that enable good use to be made of the water´s therapeutic properties. The towns of Caldes de Montbui and La Garriga in the western Vallès region are worth mentioning.

The most famous products from the fieldsof central Catalonia are best represented by the wines from the Pla de Bages designation of origin, the llenega mushroom (Hygrophorus latitabundus) from Cardona (Bages), the cigronet (chick pea) from Alta Anoia, llonganissa from Vic and the other sausages from the Osona region, mongeta del ganxet (haricot beans, from both Vallès regions) and mató (cottage cheese) from Montserrat (Anoia y Bages).

Rural tourism gives city dwellers the chance to come into contact with life in the countryside. There are dozens of peasant houses offering this service, particularly in the Bages, Osona and Anoia regions.


Paisatges de Barcelona
  • Paisatges de Barcelona

  • Paisatges Barcelona

  • Paisatges de Barcelona
  • Paisatges de Barcelona

  • Paisatges Barcelona